The WWE is ever-growing, but is possibly the toughest wrestling promotion to get into. Those that do get into the WWE are elevated to another level of fame and fortune that is a far cry from the indie scene or other wrestling promotion.

But not all pro wrestlers want to be in the WWE due to its hectic schedule and intense competition, while some others would want to build on their reputation before making the big jump to WWE.

There have been several Superstars who have rejected a contract from the WWE, but later joined the Vince McMahon promotion. Here, we take a look at 5 current Superstars who once rejected WWE

#5 Kurt Angle

When Kurt Angle finally retires from pro wrestling at WrestleMania 35, he will go down in WWE history as one of the greatest to ever step foot in a wrestling ring. The Olympic Gold medallist made a swift transition from amateur wrestling to pro wrestling, making his debut in 1999.

But most people would not know that Angle was offered a contract with WWE after the 1996 Olympics, which he rejected after he was told that he would have to lose matches. But he later signed with WWE in 1998 and made his in-ring debut the following year.

He was released in 2006, and after a few years with TNA, WWE came calling once again in 2012, which he rejected. He finally re-signed with the WWE in 2017, was inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame, and also made RAW General Manager.

At WrestleMania 35, Angle will have his final match in pro wrestling as he bids goodbye at the age of 50.

#4 Abyss and #3 Sonjay Dutt

Two of the most important Superstars in TNA/Impact Wrestling’s history, Abyss and Sonjay Dutt recently signed with the WWE as backstage producers. Abyss had been with TNA since 2002 and was a loyal servant of the promotion, while Dutt debuted way back in 2003.

WWE were reportedly interested in both stars for quite some time, which has been acknowledged by both of them in the past.

Abyss revealed in an interview that WWE had offered him a contract with a possible match against The Undertaker, which he rejected: “There was interest from (WWE). I was at a time in my career where my contract was coming up. But I decided to stay with TNA. It was definitely an offer there in 2006 to work with Undertaker, but again, I was such a big part of the beginning of TNA, I was such a home-grown talent, a base talent who they were building around, I decided to stay,” said Abyss.

Dutt also spoke in an interview where he said that he wanted to be in a promotion where he was not bound to a contract which is why he stayed at Impact Wrestling.

Triple H had this to say following the signing of both Superstars earlier this year: “I’ve heard of them, I know of them. So many people speak highly of them and their jobs over the years, from a talent standpoint and other standpoint, so, I’m looking forward to working with them and seeing where they best fit through all of this, as we all are.”

#2 Finn Balor

The first-ever Universal champion in the WWE, Finn Balor had a great start to his main roster career when he switched over from NXT back in 2016. Balor signed with the WWE in 2014 and was assigned to NXT, where he won the NXT Championship.

But Balor recently revealed in an interview that he rejected a contract offer from WWE two years after he had signed for NJPW. Balor said that WWE made quite a few offers over the years before he signed with them in 2014.

“And I think I was two, two-and-a-half years, into my run in New Japan and Johnny Ace called me and said, ‘hey, we have an opportunity for you.’ I can’t remember was the [promotion] was at the time.

“I think it was Florida. I just didn’t feel like it was the right move at the time. I felt like I was just finally getting the hang of the New Japan style and trying to get a little bit of a run going and I didn’t feel like it was the right moment [to go to WWE]. They came back, like, a couple of times over the years and it never felt like the right moment,” said Balor (H/T WrestlingInc for the transcription)

#1 AJ Styles

Since signing with the WWE in 2016, AJ Styles has gone on to win the hearts of the WWE Universe as well as the people in charge backstage. Styles, who was the face of TNA/Impact Wrestling for a decade, could have actually signed with the WWE back in 2002.

“I had a developmental deal to move to Cincinnati but at the time I was married and I didn’t think it was right to move to Cincinnati, even though my wife said, ‘go.’ It wasn’t right to leave her, have her move back in with her mother. My job is to take care of her.

“And so I turned down, respectfully, the developmental deal with WWE. Then within like a couple of months TNA started up, which I thought was just another independent thing that was probably happening. It wasn’t a big deal to me,” said Styles in an interview with Lillian Garcia.

9 votes